More Seed Starting

I’m a firm believer that seeds can be started anytime of the year. Today, I started the following:

  • Scarlett Runner Beans
  • Sequioa Beans
  • Chinese Lanterns
  • Fennel
  • Dill
  • Goji Berry
  • Money Plant
  • Radish-watermelon
  • Radish-cherry belle
  • Geranium Alpenglow
  • Chinese Houses
  • Shoofly
  • Swiss Chard-bright lights
  • Butternut squash
  • Lime Basil

I’ve been neglecting starting seeds in the past couple of weeks. I’ve just forgot to start some more.

Everything else in the garden is looking great! The tomatoes even had some tomato flowers. I had to pick them off because if they produced fruit, the plant wouldn’t be able to handle the stress of the weight of the fruit. Well, that’s all folks! Happy Gardening!

3 Comments »

  1. Hi there. I’ve enjoyed looking at your garden blog, both here and on the previous site “Garden Girlie” where it used to reside.πŸ™‚

    Glad you got those beans to sprout!πŸ™‚

    What is special about a “Ladybug” tomato that sets it apart from other hybrid tomatoes?

    I am one of the members of GardenWeb’s “Incredible Edibles” Round Robin. I would like to swap with you this month if possible. Our USDA gardening zones are similar. It looks like both of us grow in a small-space garden, using containers. πŸ™‚

    The Incredible Edibles new theme is “I can’t have a garden without X”. In my case, I can’t have a garden without pots… my entire growing space is paved! But I don’t plan on mailing a pot to my partner, LOL!πŸ™‚

    Are you going to participate this month?

    If you haven’t found a local source of bean inoculant yet, this site has some at a reasonable price:
    http://www.naturalgardening.com/cgi-bin/shop/S-Mart.cgi?command=listitems&type=group&pos=0&pg=vegetables&group=innoculant

    I haven’t ever used inoculant on my beans yet. That might be why I had no luck with container grown beans last year.

    And now I have these awesome heirloom scarlet runner beans named “Insuk’s Wang Kong” I’d like to grow. Maybe I should buy the inoculant and share the packet with you. πŸ™‚

    Even if you don’t join the Incredible Edibles swap this month I do still have some neat container- friendly seeds I’d like to share with you.πŸ™‚

    I have a few different small fruited eggplants, “Lemon” cuke seeds, hot pepper seeds including Thai and Hawaiian, bok choy, and sweet pea seeds.

    Please drop me an email and let me know if you’re interested.πŸ™‚

  2. Hi. I’ve enjoyed looking at your garden blog, both here and on the previous site “Garden Girlie” where it used to reside.πŸ™‚

    Glad you got those beans to sprout!πŸ™‚

    What is special about a “Ladybug” tomato that sets it apart from other hybrid tomatoes?

    I am one of the members of GardenWeb’s “Incredible Edibles” Round Robin. I would like to swap with you this month if possible. Our USDA gardening zones are similar. It looks like both of us grow in a small-space garden, using containers. πŸ™‚

    The Incredible Edibles new theme is “I can’t have a garden without X”. In my case, I can’t have a garden without pots… my entire growing space is paved! But I don’t plan on mailing a pot to my partner, LOL!πŸ™‚

    Are you going to participate this month?

    If you haven’t found a local source of bean inoculant yet, this site has some at a reasonable price:
    http://www.naturalgardening.com/cgi-bin/shop/S-Mart.cgi?command=listitems&type=group&pos=0&pg=vegetables&group=innoculant

    I haven’t ever used inoculant on my beans yet. That might be why I had no luck with container grown beans last year.

    And now I have these awesome heirloom scarlet runner beans named “Insuk’s Wang Kong” I’d like to grow. Maybe I should buy the inoculant and share the packet with you. πŸ™‚

    Even if you don’t join the Incredible Edibles swap this month I do still have some neat container- friendly seeds I’d like to share with you.πŸ™‚

    I have a few different small fruited eggplants, “Lemon” cuke seeds, hot pepper seeds including Thai and Hawaiian, bok choy, and sweet pea seeds.

    Please drop me an email and let me know if you’re interested.πŸ™‚

  3. aveggiegarden said

    I’m so glad you came and visited. I would love to trade with you. So sorry it took me so long to respond. I would love to have some inoculant if you buy some. I have tons of seeds to share. You can check out my trade list here: https://aveggiegarden.wordpress.com/2007/02/23/seed-trade-list/ or let me know what kinds of veggies you like to grow and I’ll tell you if I have them. I haven’t updated my list yet so I might have some of your wants. Let me know.

    I’m not sure what’s so special about ladybug hybrid tomatoes. I got it from a trade and thought I would give it a try. I think they produce tiny little cherry tomatoes and are a determinate variety (bush).

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

