Garden Update 05-03-08

Fennel 68 days (click to enlarge)

Here’s a fennel plant I grew from seed. I don’t plan on using it in our culinary adventures. Instead, I want to collect seeds for next year from this little guy. I’ll of course pot it up when its time but it looks like it is doing well in its current situation.

I tried to transplant my radish plants that were flowering this past week and was unsuccessful. I guess radishes or any root veggies don’t move well. I wanted to move it to a different location so my lettuce would be able to get some sun but they suffered as a result of the move. I ended up taking them out and throwing them away. Oh well, there will be more time for me to collect radish seeds. Right now, I’ll be able to collect some bok choy seeds this season. I also noticed my roquette and lettuce plants are beginning to bolt so I’ll let them do their thing so I can collect their seeds.

Today, I pulled up two lettuce heads for a bbq tonight. We’re bringing a salad and garlic bread for the bbq and I thought I would bring my own grown lettuce to the party. I washed it really well and spinned dried it in our salad spinner. I plan on slicing some radishes and cucumbers and adding that to the salad. I also have cherry tomatoes to add. Everything except the cucumbers and tomatoes are grown from my own garden. I’m proud. I think that’ll be a great side dish! I hope.

Gardener’s Delight Tomato at 83 days

The tomatoes are growing like crazy! I’ve been stringing them to their stakes but it seems like I have to do it every week. I’ve seen flowers on all my tomato plants. I hope to have little tomatoes soon. Here’s hoping in the next couple of months

1 Comment »

  1. grovespirit said

    Wow! Your tomato plant looks so healthy.

    I’d love to know your strategy for keeping fungi off.

    Do you use any fungicide, or some organic spray like milk or copper soap, to prevent fungus?

    My tomatoes always get fungi on their leaves! They still produce fruit, but they look ugly!:/

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

