Collecting Bok Choi Seeds

My bok choi seeds are ready to collect! It has taken 158 days from seed to get to seed. There were tons of seeds. I think each pod had around 10-15 seeds each. I’ll have tons of bok choi plants in the future! Yippee. I think the hot and dry weather has helped to get the seeds to mature. Now, I’m waiting on the radish seeds to mature. I have around 18 days until we moved to our new house so hopefully, I’ll have radish seeds to collect.

The other day, I harvested a head of bibb lettuce. I really like the taste of this. It is so yummy and buttery. I had it in a salad with some cucumbers and a touch of ranch dressing. And just for fun, I decided to take a picture of the root ball to document how deep the root ball can get.

Bibb Lettuce 145 days 05-15-08

I also cut some green onions from our endless harvest. I have ignored onion seeds in favor of planting the little nubs of green onions you get at the grocery store. They are so easy to plant. Buy a bunch of onions from the grocery store, use the greens, keep the white parts and plant the white parts in the soil. Soon, you won’t have to buy any more onions. For more information, click on my post detailing green onion propagation. Well, I guess that’s all for now. I have more packing to do! And as always, happy gardening!
 

3 Comments »

  1. You can find additional instructions for saving vegetable seeds of all kinds on the website of this 20 year-old non-profit:

    http://www.seedsave.org/issi/issi_904.html

  2. genghiskuhn said

    Question- do you have any good bok choi recipes? I bought some for the first time today and am puzzling about what to do with it.

  3. rob said

    I use Bok Choi alot in Chicken Soup, but the easiest and quickest thing to do is to stir fry the whole thing. Cut the bottom off the plant to quickly get the leaves off, use olive oil, and chopped garlic. Cook until the leaves get dark green and it is ready to eat. Bok Choi is mostly water so what seems like a lot will cook down quite a bit.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

