Vegetable (from seed) Gardening: A Garden Update

Most of my vegetables I started are setting and growing nicely. I have tiny blooms on my pepper plants. My bell pepper plant that I still have in a pot has a tiny little bell pepper. This year I’m growing a variety of peppers: California wonder, fish pepper, numex big jim, thai hots, kung pao peppers, and jalapeno. An observation I’ve made with peppers is that they take soooo long to grow. I mean it’s taken 122 days for them to flower.

For the past 3 weeks, I’ve had fruits develop on all my tomato plants. I have one ladybug hybrid tomato just turning a blush pink. I bet in a week or two, it’ll be ready to eat. I have tons of tomatoes planted this year as well! Varieties include: supersweet, ladybuy hybrid, jelly bean, tiny tim, red currant, gardener’s delight, marglobe, roma, black cherry, and fireball tomatoes.

One of my favorite garden chores lately has been pinching! I’ve been pinching everything from basil to coleus to mint! Pinching allows the plants to get bushier and fuller instead of tall and spindly. It’s great for basil since you will get more production from basils that are bushy then tall ones. Here are some results of my pinching.

 

Jelly Bean tomatoes 117 days 05-27-08

Tiny Tim tomatoes 117 days 05-27-08

Roma Tomatoes 117 days 05-27-08

Red and Gold Currant Tomatoes 117 days 05-27-08

One of my favorite garden chores lately has been pinching! I’ve been pinching everything from basil to coleus to mint! Pinching allows the plants to get bushier and fuller instead of tall and spindly. It’s great for basil since you will get more production from basils that are bushy then tall ones. Here are some results of my pinching.

Lemon Basil 93 days 05-27-08

Mix of Sweet Basil and Large Leaf Basil Plants 93 days 05-27-08

The only vegetable that have not produced any fruit has been my zucchini and squash plants. They’ve done very well at producing male flowers but no female flowers just yet. I hope they come soon! I can’t wait to have zucchini for our summer dinners. Well, that’s all folks. Stay tune for an update on my flower seeds that I planted this winter! And as always, happy gardening!

 

2 Comments »

  1. Your vegetables look great. From the tomato pictures I believe you will have bushel baskets full when they mature.

  2. aveggiegarden said

    thanks for the compliment. I hope to have tons of tomatoes to cook with, share, and snack on!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

